WHAT is it all about?


This workshop will enable younger scientists to become more familiar with the fundamentals of a range of methods and approaches, that will enable a deeper understanding and appreciation of the research talks at the main congress.



Invited and Plenary speakers from the congress will be invited to participate at this workshop, in addition to others who are regular teachers at EBSA Biophysics courses and workshops. A senior editor from Elsevier will give an insight to publishing both for the scientist and as a career path.



A great opportunity to network with senior scientists and invited speakers and world experts in their field in an informal way, as well as meet other participants ahead of the main congress before you arrive, in a relaxed and informal environment in a beautiful buzzing town in the hills above Madrid.



Those younger scientists who have been selected to present an ORAL PRESENTATION at the main congress, are invited to practise their talk in front of the workshop participants and tutors, and receive both formal and informal feedback, if desired.

A PRIZE will be awarded to the person presenting the best talk, as voted by the participants themselves.



The workshop is highly subsidised by EBSA and the fee to attend (including accommodation for 3 nights, meals and access to all the lectures), is €120. Spaces are exclusively limited to young scientists registered for the main Congress, and local students by previous agreement - see registration page for eligibility.



Arrival, Wednesday July 17th 2019 (the first formal session will be at 6pm, followed by an informal reception then dinner).

Departure will be on Saturday 20th July 2019 in morning at 12 noon – the main congress starts at 17:00 in Madrid.



Will include:


              Anthony Watts, Oxford, UK (President, EBSA)                                          Helmut Grubmüller, Max Planck Institute, DE
                                                                                                                          (past-President, EBSA)


              Jesus Perez-Gil, Madrid, Spain (President-elect, EBSA)                                   Edward Egelman, UVa, Charlottesville, USA                                                                                                                                             (past-President, Biophysical Society)


              Pere Roca-Cusachs, Barcelona (EBSA Young Investigator Award                 Manuel Prieto, Lisbon, Portugal (President-elect, IUPAB) 



             Greg Winter, Cambridge, UK (Nobel Laureate)                                            John Seddon, Imperial College, UK   (Secretary, EBSA)                                                     





















This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now